Netlabel › One

»Over the River and Through the Woods« by Transient

Cover of Over the River and Through the Woods

Transient has developed his own niche blend of downtempo mixed with, well, everything else. Often sample heavy, he skitters around in time conjuring images of worn vhs home videos, dark rooms and smoke filled lounges – yet managing to salvage a modern and personalized sound by refusing to surrender to the confines of the retrospective..

Each song is a unique experience, but the release remains coherent as a whole. Most likely this is through the use of scattered vocals on songs like “look” and “my last goodbye” – a welcome addition that seems to provide the motif for the rest of the record. A theme that sits well with the dirty breaks, jazz, ambience and even theatric moments that also appear throughout.

  1. electronic data [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  2. basks [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  3. so fine [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  4. railroad flying machine [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  5. no friends, no enemies [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  6. hoagie hound [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  7. look [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  8. everything dub [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  9. macrame [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  10. forest zone [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  11. my last goodbye [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  12. muse [MusicBrainz (recording)]
  13. adk thunderstorm [MusicBrainz (recording)]

Run time 49:38

Netlabel: One
Release Date: 2004-11-17
Release-ID: one016
Download on ›